Marriage Certificates

Request for a Marriage Certificate

If you were married in the State of New Hampshire after 1960, or you obtained your marriage license in Dover before 1960, you may obtain a certified copy of your Marriage Certificate at the City Clerk's Office or the State Bureau of Vital Records in Concord.

New Hampshire vital records are considered to be private, and access to them is restricted by statute to those individuals who have a "direct and tangible interest" in the record.

The cost of a marriage certificate is $15.00 for the first copy, and $10 for each additional copy you request at the same time for of the same record.

You can get a copy in one of two ways: 

  • You can come into the City Clerk’s Office during normal business hours.
  • You can print the marriage certificate request form, fill it out, and mail to our office along with a copy of your Photo ID, a check and a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Any person shall be guilty of a Class B Felony if he/she willfully and knowingly makes any false statement in a application for a certified copy of a vital record. (RSA 126:24)

Please note: Due to two fires in Dover City Hall, (one in the 1800s and one in 1933) most of our early records were destroyed. Our records start about 1870 for births and around 1875 for marriages and deaths. Unfortunately, birth records are only available for genealogical purposes from 1907 and before. Death and marriage records are only available for genealogical purposes from 1957 and before.

Click here to view or download the vital record application.