Dover New Hampshire Police Department

Legal Bureau

INFORMATION ABOUT NEW HAMPSHIRE

VICTIM ASSISTANCE COMMISSION

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 33 CAPITOL STREET CONCORD, NH 03301-6397 TOLL FREE: 1-800-300-4500 (in NH only) or (603) 271-1284

The New Hampshire Victims' Assistance Commission helps innocent victims of violent crime with expenses directly related to crime injuries. The costs of this program are paid by motor vehicle and criminal fine assessments and federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grants, and not by New Hampshire Taxpayers.

WHO CAN GET HELP?

- Any person who sustains physical and/or mental injuries in a crime which occurred in New Hampshire on or after 11/02/89
- Any person who sustains personal injury as a result of persons driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances in new Hampshire on or after 11/02/89.
- Immediate family members of a homicide victim who was killed on or after 11/02/89 in New Hampshire.
- Any person who is a victim of sexual abuse, which occurred in New Hampshire, and is under the age of 18 at the time the claim is filed, regardless of when the crime occurred.
- New Hampshire residents injured by any of the above crimes in a state without a compensation program may also be eligible.

WHAT MUST I DO TO GET HELP?

- You must report the crime to local law enforcement within 5 days, unless there is a reasonable explanation why you could not.
- You must file an application with the commission within one year from the date of the crime, unless there is a reasonable explanation why you could not.
- You must cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement officers and prosecutors in their investigation or prosecution of the crime.
- You must incur at least \$100.00 in out-of pocket loss or liability as a direct result of the crime.
- You must NOT have contributed in any way to the injury or death.
- You must NOT have been assisting in or committing a criminal act causing your injuries.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?

It may take 4 months or longer to determine if you can be helped by the program. You can help speed up the process. Please respond as soon as possible to any requests for additional information/documentation.

WHAT COSTS MAY BE PAID?

The program can help with the following types of crime-related expenses or lost wages/support, which are not covered by insurance or other resources, in an amount not to exceed a total of \$5,000.00 per victim:

- Medical and dental care needed for crime-related injuries.
- Mental health counseling needed for crime-related mental trauma (up to \$2,000.00 at a cap of \$60.00/hour).
- Wages lost by the victim due to the victim's crime-related injuries.
- Loss of support for the dependents of homicide victims.
- Funeral and burial costs for homicide victims (up to \$2,000.00).
- Other out-of-pocket expenses.
- You can NOT be paid for property loss or pain and suffering.

IF YOU THINK YOU OR YOUR DEPENDENT IS ELIGIBLE FOR VICTIMS' COMPENSATION:

- COMPLETE THE ENCLOSED APPLICATION FORM, SIGN IT, AND RETURN IT TO THE NH VICTIMS' ASSISTANCE COMMISSION. NOTE: You may obtain an application from the Prosecutor's Office
- YOUR APPLICATION FORM WILL BE REVIEWED AND YOU MAY BE ASKED FOR MORE INFORMATION/DOCUMENTATION. PLEASE RESPOND AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO ANY REQUESTS FOR MORE INFORMATION.
- FOR HELP PLEASE CALL 1-800-300-4500 (in NH only) or (603) 271-1284.

THE NEW HAMPSHIRE VICTIMS' BILL OF RIGHTS

Victims of felonious crimes committed by an adult offender are entitled to the following rights under NH RSA 21-M:8-K.

(a) The right to be treated with fairness and respect for the dignity and privacy throughout the criminal justice process.

(b) The right to be informed about the criminal justice process and how it progresses.

(c) The right to be free from intimidation and to be reasonably protected from the accused throughout the criminal justice process.

(d) The right to be notified of all court proceedings.

(e) The right to attend trial and all other court proceedings the accused has the right to attend.

(f) The right to confer with the prosecution and to be consulted about the disposition of the case, including plea bargaining.

(g) The right to have inconveniences associated with participation in the criminal justice

process minimized.

(h) The right to be notified if presence in court is not required.

(i) The right to be informed about available resources, financial assistance, and social services.

(j) The right to restitution, as granted under RSA 651:62-67 or any other applicable state law, or victim's compensation, under RSA 21-M:8-h or any other applicable state law, for their losses.

(k) The right to be provided a secure, but not necessarily separate, waiting area during court proceedings.

(1) The right to be advised of case progress and final disposition.

(m) The right of confidentiality of the victim's address, place of employment, and other personal information.

(n) The right to the prompt return of property when no longer needed as evidence.

(o) The right to have input in the probation pre-sentence report impact statement.

(p) The right to appear and make a written or oral victim impact statement at the sentencing of the defendant.

(q) The right to be notified of an appeal, an explanation of the appeal process, the time, place and result of the appeal, and the right to attend the appeal hearing.

(r) The right to be notified and to attend sentence review hearings and sentence reduction hearings.

(s) The right to be notified of any change of status such as prison release, permanent interstate transfer, or escape, and the date of the parole board hearing, when requested by the victim through the victim advocate.

(t) The right to address or submit a written statement for consideration by the parole board on the defendant's release and to be notified of the decision of the board, when requested by the victim through the victim advocate.